June 21, 2012

  • Time Sure Does Fly

    How I felt writing on here, after not writing on here for almost a month:

     

    What happened?  If you want to know why, my last pulse gave a good clue.

    Actually, I can’t put all the blame on that.  Over the past 6 months or so, some changes has happened that have given me a few reasons why I haven’t been writing as often as I would like:

    1.  I’m getting busier at work

    Summer is my busiest season since most events I work at take place when it’s nice and warm.  Besides prepping and helping out with those events, I’ve recently started getting some big responsibilities on a couple projects that has wide implications.  Don’t want to say too much yet so I don’t jinx anything, but let just say that if I succeed I will gain a lot of attention from my national office.  Wish me luck!

    2.  I’m happy and content with life (for now)

    Good job, good home, good work, good family, good friends, good girlfriend, good health…a lot of goodness.  I guess what they say is true:  it’s harder to write when you’re in a relationship and content with life.

    3.  I’m becoming more private

    Of course, I would be lying to say everything is wonderful all the time.  Just lately, I’ve been getting less of an urge to tell everyone.  Whenever I have something I need to really talk about, I can usually confide with close friends or the girlfriend.  I have been pondering about starting protected postings again though.  If I do, who wants to be on the list?

    Yep, there you have the reasons why I’ve been preoccupied.

    Okay fine, I’ll admit the last reason…

    4.  Frickin’ addictive Diablo 3


    Diablo ain’t got nothing on @Cakalusa and me!

    Don’t worry, blogging is still a fun hobby of mine and I will keep on writing when I can find the time and motivation.  At least now you know why if I disappear from time to time.  Hope all of you are doing well!

Comments (124)

  • I’m glad to hear that you’re doing well! :)

  • Admit it, it’s 90% Diablo III! lol But congrats with all goin well

  • I’ve made up for your absence.  In quantity, not quality.  Come back and put everyone out of their misery.

  • Dia-blow me all day!

  • Oh how I missed reading your posts. I want to be on your list!

    I’m happy to hear life is treating you well :D

  • Glad things are going well for you, Alex. :)

  • Honestly, I think it’s safe for us to jusy blame D3. haha

  • i always wonder if people will continue updating their stuff through out their lifetime on here…i like to read more than i write so keep me updated with the good stuff…

  • glad to hear you’re alive and still kicking =)

  • I found writing 10x easier when I was emo bahahaha. So happy to hear life is working out so well for you right now though. All the best!!

  • there’s always protective posting. :D

  • I stopped blogging mainly because of number 3, but I wrote more when I was depressed. lol

    I’m happy to hear that you’re doing well and you’re at a good place. Please let me know when you’ll be in NYC again. I’m living there now. It would be nice to hang out again! =)

  • Yay, you’re alive! :)

  • I, too, find myself growing to be more introverted. 

    OMG D3D3D3 i still can’t afford it hahaha

  • glad things are going well for you! i’m trying to get there 

  • Fantastic that things are going well for you Alex. We all seem to go through periods of time where our need/desire to blog lessens.

  • I kept wondering where you disappeared off to :) Got a bit concerned and was wondering if I should call the xanga search squad (aka, the rest of the asscats) to look for you.

  • You’re a really good guy, so I’m happy that so many good things are happening for you now :) You deserve it :)

  • At least you are happy. I’ve quit blogging a few times myself, but I always come back because I just NEED to write.

    Oh, by the way that pic at the top is funny. I LOVE Jumanji

  • I don’t even know you anymore :(

  • Good to know things are going well for you! :D

  • Heyyyy, I remember you.

  • It would be an honor to be on your protected list.  Also, everyone has been sucked into the vortex of Diablo 3.

  • Number 2: Ain’t that the truth. 

    And I wish to be on that holy amazing list of yours. I haven’t gotten into Diablo 3 and looks like I won’t be since I found that it requires you to be online to play. Plus, my computer is putt-putting. Though, there was a video today where I saw a player beat the first boss in one second. So….. keep playing. Hahah. 

  • very happy for u in terms on item 2. it’s hard for many to get there. i wish more good things will go your way =D

  • DIABLO ENDS ALL!! BTW come online I prob have items to give you! :]

    @suuperstar - I KNOW!!! When I’m mad emo, the creative juices just start flowing!!!

  • You look familiar… j/k.

    I hope things go well with your projects.  Don’t be afraid to get some help to make sure you’ve done enough preparation (e.g. contingency plans).  As for keeping private, I think that’s one of the advantages of being an anonymous blogger.  It’s a lot harder for you to write about family or work.  Maybe you should have another blog somewhere to vent.  If you decide to create a protected list, I hope you’ll consider adding me. 

  • Miss reading your fun adventures…….with your lil brother. haha

  • no one approves diablo!! -_-

    I want to read some protected post! :P

  • Life is good !!! so glad for most of us. :) Cheers!!!

  • Okay, so I will assume that no news from Alex = good news

  • its okay if you disappear from xanga…i have your number. lol

    its good when most aspects in your life are good.

    im soo happpy for you :)

  • great stuff man! jealous u get to play tennis all day and do what you love! and still have time for d3! 

  • Perhaps as we grow older, things are more “routine” and not as much turbulence? Good to hear things are going well.

  • @suuperstar - i know right? haha life is so boring when you are happy! haha jk =P

    glad to hear you are well. i feel the same way. Been busy and all.  good to know you are alive. =D

  • Sounds like you’re doing really great. Yay for you!
    I can relate to you for not posting as much when you have someone to talk to about everything. And games, duh!

  • nice indoor court.

  • It’s great to have a life you love.

  • I’m glad things are going great with you and good luck!

  • @pika_whoosh - Thanks, good luck with your project!

    @ehs_swimmer2007 - Haha okay, I’ll admit that the game has been taking a large part of my free time.

    @whotakethmycoke - Have you been not as happy lately?

    @CaKaLusa - I can now play with you while you’re using WD.  Inferno time!

    @clubsmiley - You shall be added!  Now, I need to get myself to start writing protected posts.

  • @Roadlesstaken - in a word, no. Don’t read my drivel, it’s just me whining.

  • @Xbeautifully_broken_downX - When are we gonna play together on D3?  I’m lvl 60 now!

    @fLiPgUy31O - Yes yes, but my other reasons makes my absence less bad haha

    @Passenger00 - that’s my ultimate goal, to keep on writing throughout my life.  Maybe my kids will read them and learn more about me.

    @buiptammy - I am I am!

    @suuperstar - There is the other side: when I’m traveling a lot I can at least write about that stuff!  Alas, my traveling has been dropped a notched lately.

  • I feel like there’s a lot more happiness going around lately.

  • @smile4leena - Been so long since I’ve done one…need to remember how to haha

    @xkthily - I know for sure I’ll be in NY in late August for a conference.  What part of NY are you living at now?

    @leaflesstree - 100%!

    @secade - Buy it so we can play together!  Just don’t eat out for 2-3 days.

    @petitetokio - Good luck to you, I hope so.  (Btw, I’ve wanted to comment on your blog at times but since you’ve locked it I haven’t been able to.  You do write very well)

  • @christao408 - I just hope that period doesn’t last too long.  I like blogging!  Too much life distractions.

    @paperblanks - It’s the ASSCATs guys that convinced me to get D3!  Any updates on your SF trip possibility?

    @Cestovatelka - Aw thanks, I really appreciate it Marica

    @Empathic_Heart - Haha yes, it’s a fun meme to use!

    @lovelybish - Sorry!!!  Diablo 3 man…

  • @xx_smilez - thanks, I’m glad so too.  Hope it continues.

    @randaness - I still exist!

    @Thatslifekid - gonna join us soon?

    @laytexduckie - I can probably kill the first boss in a couple seconds on normal mode haha. 

    @mich_yap - thank you much!  I appreciate it.

  • @Roadlesstaken - Me personally? I only game IRL… Ultimate Frisbee, Kickball, etc. See you in the sun!

  • @Scrooge0 - I saw you online yesterday but you left too fast.  Cool cool cool.  Let’s go on inferno runs!

    @ElusiveWords - of course you will be on the list, you’re one of my favorite bloggers on here after all.  Thanks for the reminder for the contingency planning.  I sometimes forget to do enough of that.

    @miss_dizzao - so sad, my brother’s more interesting than me!!  Ah but yes, I do need to go on more adventures with him but it has been tough lately with me living away.

    @Ladiiee - Fine, I suppose you’ll be on the list =)

    @llwindyll - Seems life is more gooder (I know, bad grammar) for you!

  • @rpghero27 - I say for the most part, yes.  Of course if I died then that wouldn’t be good…aiya

    @jeannie_dot_com - That you do.  To Las Vegas!

    @Manbeast - Funny enough, I play less tennis now than before I started working.  Most of my tennis playing is really with the kids, so actually hitting hasn’t been as often =/

    @aJoLLyDork - Perhaps so.  That’s not a bad problem to have!

    @Cucumber_Melonhead - busy can be a good thing.  We’re both staying active.

  • @simplysuzu - do you play D3 too?

    @sonychak - The facility was smashing!

    @PrisonerxOfxLove - Yes yes.  It can be better of course, but I can’t complain too much.

    @nov_way - @angeldreamslonelynights - thanks!

    @StupidSystemus - You’ll know it better when you get D3.  Just sayin’

    @jennfaceee - Not a bad 1st world problem to have!

  • I love Jumanji. I’ll read your protected posts if you trust me.

  • @wyrdkismet - Do you even have to ask if I trust you?  Course!

  • @Roadlesstaken – Haha. This guy did it on Inferno mode. And he recorded all his other boss battles. He probably averaged like, 3 seconds a boss. Hahah.

  • @Roadlesstaken - I’ve gone through worse. That’s why I’m excluding myself from D3 lol

  • so happy to hear that you’re doing well! Love the tennis pictures, does your girlfriend ever play with you? 

  • Vague posts and reflections are wonderful to share. At least for me.

  • Yay :D good to know the reasons are all good ones…and I can never blame someone for choosing games over anything else in life ;)

    Good Luck on your project man!!! I’m sure it’ll go right.
    And also very interesting point about when things are going well it’s harder to reach some of the places of creativity that are open during the bad or rough times.

    And don’t worry The RoadlessTaken will always have enough of a following to reach top blogs no matter how long you are away :)

  • Yeah you’ve been MIA but that Diablo thing, I hope the GF won’t throw it away. hehe Unless you guys play together ;)

  • Really glad to hear things are going good for you. Puts a big smile on my face :)

  • Glad to hear things are going well. Hope things continue to go well. You’re on my protected list, why wouldn’t I be on yours?

  • ha! was waiting you to list Diablo as a reason for not blogging as much lol seems like that’s what all the cool cats are doing these days…

  • No more Public Alex? Awww =

    Glad you are in a content state of place now. 

  • In this era of budget cuts, it is good that the projects you have are still around.

    I suppose there will not be much here on the West coast tennis circuit?

  • I want to be on the list! Because you found a truly good girl, you don’t need Xanga to confide in as much. So maybe Xanga is like a fill in for a girl/boyfriend?

  • Aww, I’m glad everything is going well for you, Alex! We’ve missed you! <3

  • @Roadlesstaken - Haha, alright then. At least they would’ve been able to tell me that you were still alive (and report on your progress in the game). SF trip is still being determined. I have to head to Vancouver for sure early August, but won’t necessarily have enough time to skirt over to make SF worthwhile, so I’m talking to work right now to let me work out of a cubicle in our office there for a few days, so that I can spend a fair bit of time there. Not sure if it’ll be approved or not. It’s a very unorthodox request!

  • I haven’t been online much either. Busy with work = little Xanga energy. Glad to know your absence is due to good things, though, and good luck with the project! Feel free to put me on that Protected list. :)

  • So far I am quite busy with med school app, so I don’t go on Diablo as much…but honestly I can see myself getting bored with that game in a month or so after I realize that all I can do is farming for gears. Bizzard, come on now.

    Battle tag: felix#1685 

  • It’s easier to vent on Xanga than to write about the good stuff. 

  • @laytexduckie - damn, he must have had over 100k DPS!

    @lovejennyy - here and there, she’s a beginner but a fast learner.  Planning to play more often now it’s better weather outside!

    @mkazama - I have generally gone more vague than detailed in past post myself.  Sometimes everyone does not need to know everything.

    @SaintBlue1131 - haha thanks.  Have you tried playing D3 yet?

    @oxyGENE_08 - she doesn’t play haha, but she’s learning to accept it.  Woo!

  • @LillyVRose - Like this ^_________^?

    @genesis83 - Man I feel bad, I actually didn’t know I was!  Now I do and will look out for those in the future when I can.

    @BranmacFeabhail - all the cool ASSCATS, you could say?

    @MzKeekz - Oh I’m sure I’ll still be publicish.  I’m not that easy to get rid of!

    @PPhilip - There’s always stuff happening on the west coast in terms of tennis haha.  CA is one of the biggest tennis states!

  • @cal_islander - In a way, yes.  It definitely was a great companion during my lonely times haha

    @oOo_itsJuJu - Thanks, I will try to be around more once the D3 game gets out of my system

    @paperblanks - Hmmm Vancouver…perhaps I could meet you there instead?  What time frame would you be there?

    @Lynn1013 - course, you shall be on the list!

    @manmantong2000 - Yes, farming should be a means to an end game, not the end game. I’ll add you shortly.

    @mycontinuity - Good stuff I just usually put on FB haha

  • @Roadlesstaken - That would work lol. August 4 – 11?

  • @Roadlesstaken - Or actually.. Let me see when our next long weekend is. Perhaps I can just make a jaunt down to DC :) Been meaning to hit up the museums!

  • @Roadlesstaken - Lol, addicted much? You’ll probably play it AGAIN to make sure you got everything ;)

  • Nope I’ve not taken the plunge into the fires of hell yet…kind of missed out on the Diablo series of games to be honest.
    But i’ve seen some youtube vids of D3 and it does look pretty awesome!…so i’m not surprised it has the power to take over you life a bit ;)

    My current purchases game wise are in preperation for my brothers return, when we shall be playing Skyrim, Mass Effect 3 and maybe Crysis 2
    Never been cutting edge gamers really, but we get there eventually.

  • @paperblanks - That would be cool, let me know so I can try to plan accordingly!

    @SaintBlue1131 - D3 is actually my first Diablo game, so don’t feel like you’re alone if you jump in.  Skyrim is cool, but it’s only 1 player.

  • Yeah I really enjoy being the annoying advisor in games :P so me and my bro usually share the playing experience with him at the controls and me watching.

    So single player games are fine for that.
    The Coop options are pretty rare in games nowadays so Diablo 3 might tempt us someday.

  • darn you so damn lucky.  congrats with the ALL things good in your life, bro.  don’t forget to share some of your good life to the rest of us xangans.  some of us are deprived of happiness and eager to see that there is hope out there :)

  • @rudyhou - Yah, just trying to focus on the happiness I have =)

  • Hahaha. I knew the Diablo 3 was going to show up eventually. Although I will have to say that my favorite reference in the entire post is Robin Williams from Jumanji. Hahaha. Good times. Also, we need to get together. That being said. Bon Chon?

  • @bengozen - Bon Chon it is! Let me know when you are able to come by.

  • Being busy is def a good reason to be away :) .  2 & 3 are also reasons why I’ve been away too, I suppose!  & Diablo 3 has also been my bf’s time-sucker. >:O (jk jk, I don’t mind ^^).

  • glad things have been mostly well!

  • @phosphor_stars - You should play games with him.  Bonding time!  I know a few couples that do.

  • Glad things are going well for you. As they say, “No news is good news.” LOL  Yeah, yeah. Cliche. Good luck and please put me on your protected list! 

  • @zoetik - Okay, you got it!

  • i blame your girlfriend fot this

    ahaha, just kidding

    xanga will never be the same without you, so, never ever leave, at least

  • @maniacsicko - Okay, I’ll stay for you!

  • I’m so happy that things are going so well with you :D :D :D

    I miss you.

  • @fabolousclown - miss you too, I do need to write again!  So busy lately.

  • 1) Add me on D3 lainebaby#1342
    2) Really? addicted to D3? I played and farmed the shit out of it. Now I’m bored. I spy DH, which is what I am. What’s your DPS?
    3) I did wonder about you the other day and where you went! Glad to know you haven’t completely disappeared.
    4) Yep, writing is a million times easier when there’s shit going down! I write less now also. My things used to be TLDR.
    5) If you do decide on protected posting, I would like to be on the list! :)

  • @babyxxxo - I message you awhile back asking for your tag but you never replied =( .  I GUESS I can forgive you haha.  Cool, I’ll add you soon.  My main is a Wiz (Cakalusa is that DH).  Hard to compare DPS across classes, but mine is currently around 45k.  Sorry for disappearing!  I still read people (including you) when I can, just can’t always comment as much as I like.  And yes, you’ll be on my protected list once I begin writing on there again.

  • Dear Alex,

    Just don’t shut down the blog. You never know when you’ll want to continue blogging, and it’s neat for ol timers like me to come upon Xangans who’ve kept the same blog with their “histories’ intact.

    Good luck with you job and your sport.

    I’d be honored to be on your “protected” list.

    Have fun with your gaming. Just remember that there are some gamers (I believe the last incident was in Thailand if memory serves) who seem to be so enthralled with the game that they forget to eat and sleep, and then die from exhaustion! You aren’t given extra “lives” in the real world, no matter what happens in the game.

    I read this entry previously but didn’t leave a comment. I have “seen” you in my footprints, however, in fact, just a few moments ago, as I “xanga” while on lunch at work.

    Michael F. Nyiri, poet,philosopher, fool

  • It would be an honor to be on your protected posts Alex, and I have become more and more introverted as the months have gone by.  I hope life continues to treat you well. Miss you. :)

  • time flies…  and i bet many of the xangans would be hoping that you’d be flying back here once in a while..   or xangan would be a less fun place to be in =)

  • @baldmike2004 - No worries, I don’t think I will shut this down completely.  Too many memories.  I’ve been trying to keep up with everyone’s posts lately, but having a hard time.  I try to visit when I can, and comment when possible!

    @Endless21Echos - You shall be on it =)

    @maniacsicko - You can take the girls while I’m away, good deal?

  • @Roadlesstaken - Thanks ALEX!!! It is fantastic to hear that you are doing so well. :) I cannot wait to hear all about your stories and future! :)

  • Nooooo..don’t let the gaming steal your soul! :P lol I’ve had bad experiences with overly obsessive gamers, so as long as you’re good with balancing it all within your life..game on I guess, my friend. haha Yes, I’ve noticed that you haven’t posted much as of lately. But it’s good to hear that it’s due to good reasons. Hope to see a post from you sometime, Alex. Take care. :)

  • @Babieboo_Annie - I must not buy anymore games!  So distracting haha

  • I laughed so hard at the “what year is it” photo :’D

  • @nepenthium - It’s good to see you!  Literally, I think that’s the clearest face shot I’ve seen of you.  

  • Where are you come from?China?

  • @xzm01234 - Family’s from Hong Kong, but I was born and raised in Maryland.  Now I live in the Washington DC area.

  • Has it been that long since your last entry?  I hope you’re doing well. 

  • @ElusiveWords - so it seems so it seems =O

  • Games are time sinkholes. So is tumblr.

    How is the frustrated-with-roommate tumblr going? Did you move out? O.o My how time flies.

  • I sure have missed you. I hope to stay in contact!

  • @christykim - Yup, moved out a few months back!  No more frustrating roommates.

    @smorales85 - Thanks, I’m still around-ish for now.  I do need to get back to this…

  • #2 is so true and I would love to be on the protected list.

  • rl gf or xanga gf?

  • AL AL! i keep visiting all my favorite blogs from “the time before,” and it seems like the majority of them barely post anymore! that makes me sad! i’m subscribing to you right now so don’t let me down, yo!

    p.s. i like to use exclamation points, apparently!
    p.p.s. oh and this is beetunes! :)

  • i miss your scent :(

  • @AsToldByKatie - No problem. Now, I just need to blog again haha…

    @SHEERROSE - Fo realz

    @thefittedsheet - How can I ever forget my beetunes?  Good to see you back (and looks like someone is very photogenic!).  Yes, I really should blog again…soon.  I will!

    @BenelliMan - I can sell you my scent for tree-fiddy

  • :) It’s wonderful to hear that things are going well for you.

    It makes me feel better about everything when I discover that my old friends are living happily.

  • @johnny_hopkins - Who says I’m old?!  Haha but seriously thank you.  Hope all is well with you.

  • These days, for you, Xanga is a roadNEVERtaken! For the love of God, chan, put up a new post!!!

  • @amateurprose - Haha, I know I know….I really need to.  Soon…

  • I know this post is old, but I definitely agree and am very happy for you. (I hope that things are still going well?)  That’s why I fell off Xanga too. I’m very content with life right now so there’s not much to write about because it’s quite stable (for once) and when you have a significant other to unload your thoughts on, you feel less inclined to write.

    I hope to see you again in the near future! Hopefully, it won’t be another two year gap. Hehe

  • @xkthily - Yeah, it was good seeing you.  Hope you made it through the Hurricane okay!  Let me know if you ever visit the DC area again.

  • Haha I’m late on this post but Diablo 3 is amazing

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *