April 3, 2013

  • Shaking the President’s Hand, and More! My White House Experience

    No April Fools joke here!  On April 1st, I was at the White House all day.  Why was I there?  I was fortunate enough to be selected to be among a small group of tennis trainers that ran the tennis area of the annual White House Easter Egg Roll.  It was a long day with few breaks, but it was worth it.


    Doh, should have have read that first before opening


    Make way for the talent!

    Over the course of 12 hours, more than 30,000 kids and parents from around the country visited the south lawn of the White House to participate in many type of activities, including tennis.


    Playing a game called “Splat”

    My guilty pleasure boy band was here. The Wanted!

    Gangnam Style, Hula Hoop edition

    Numerous celebrities were roaming around too, with a few stopping by the court to hit.  One of them happened to be Jared from Subway!  He hung out for a couple hours by the court, so I got the chance to talk with his family and him for a while.  What a pleasant guy.

    Other guests that stopped by our court included…


    Victor Cruz from the NY Giants


    Kid President from YouTube


    Later that morning, we saw a couple guys that looked like this walking in.  That meant one thing…the special guest has arrived!

    The POTUS is here! The POTUS is here!

     


    The real life Obama “Not Bad” face!
     
    Jared and his son watches as Obama blesses a child (or maybe just giving a high five)

    After going down the line of the large crowd shaking hands with everyone, Mr. President finally made it to me:


    I love my job.

    It was privilege to represent tennis at the White House Easter Egg Roll, and I will never forget this day.  Hopefully, I will get a chance to return next year!

Comments (82)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *