Month: October 2009

  • Please Grandma, No More! Seriously, I’m Good!

    My grandma LOVES to knit.  If she isn’t cooking, you can bet she’s on her massage chair cranking out clothing up the wazoo.  I’ll give her credit; she certainly knows how to knit clothes well, but I’m not quite sure if she knows how to make them for a guy in my generation.

    As it gets closer to winter, my grandma would constantly ask me if I want her to make me a sweater so I can stay warm.  I graciously say no, but come a week or two later she presents me with a brand new sweater anyway.  I smile and accept it of course (gotta be polite), but I’m just not sure I can um, do her outfit justice if I wore them in public.  Thus, I’ve never really worn her stuff anywhere that people can see me.

    Perhaps I’m being a tad too harsh.  They aren’t too bad, but they don’t seem like they’re for me.  Here, I’ll let you be the judge.  I dug through my closest and found some of following items from Grandma’s Signature Collection.  What do you think?  Are they as bad as I think they are?

    1)

    I told her I like blue, but I’m not sure this is what I had in mind.

    2)

    Yes, this will totally intimidate all the guys in the room -_-

    3)

    I think I should wait a few more decades before I can rock this (although it was surprisingly comfortable).

    4)

    I wonder if Waldo would wear this if he had decided to go blue instead of red.

    5)

    Very *breathes* tug *breathes* fit *breathes*

    6)

    Actually, this didn’t look too bad compare to the previous ones I’ve tried on.  If only the arm length could have been a wee bit longer.

    7)

    Not a bad scarf I suppose, but I wish she didn’t make it look so feminent.  Possible gift for a female friend?

    8)

    I see what she was going for with this.  If only it wasn’t so cheesy XP

    If, by the way, any of you are interested in getting your very own sweater/scarf/etc. specially made by my grandma just let me know!  I’m sure she’ll be happy to oblige, and I’ll be extremely happy to be off the hook for a while

  • Recovery: A Silly Short Skit

    Before heading over to San Diego, I got a special request from mycontinuity to make a skit for her.  In case you weren’t aware, she’s a teacher in South Korea right now and wanted to show her class a skit that introduces some English dating and relationships terminology (which will explain why a few captions pop up in key moments). 

    She didn’t exactly give me a specific script to follow, so I went ahead and quickly made one up (which kinda shows, but not too much I hope!).  I tried to keep the storyline shot and simple, while injecting a little corny humor here and there (How I Met Your Mother fans will probably pick up on many references we made to that show throughout the skit). 

    subaru3169 filming a “dramatic” scene involving me

    All of this was shot at Lake Murray in San Diego during the most recent Xanga meet up.  All of the skit participants were fellow Xangans who graciously took the time out to help me do this for mycontinuity (hmm, just noticed you can see MyxlDove‘s kids doing a cameo appearance in the background as well hehe).

    Here’s the final, edited skit.  Enjoy the silliness

    Cast
    Roadlesstaken:  The Guy
    Meowmeowkimmaee:  The Ex-Girlfriend
    Subaru3169:  The Ex’s New Boyfriend
    Snapeful:  The Pick-Up Line Girl
    Levanna:  The New Girl
    fLiPgUy31O:  The Wingman

    Here’s a bonus video of some of the outtakes, including a scene which we creepified just for laughs (you’ll know which scene when you see it):

  • Big San Diego Weekend (Snow Patrol, YouTube Panel, SD Xanga Meet)

    *NOTE:  This entry contains A LOT of pictures and videos from my busy San Diego weekend.  If you don’t want to be bombarded with the following pics/vids from my activities at the Snow Patrol concert, the YouTube panel, or the San Diego Xanga meet I would not proceed any further!  For everyone else…come on in ^_^ *

    So I don’t know how I’m not passed out from my eventful trip and the red-eye flight back home yet, but until I do I’m going to try my best to make this entry!  I probably could write several entries related to this weekend if I wanted to, but I’ll try to squeeze it all in here. 

    I arrived in San Diego Friday night and almost immediate had dinner with strawberries_and_honey and snapeful at this cheap but yummy sushi place (been here all three times I’ve came down).

    On Saturday, we went over to the San Diego Asian Film Festival to watch the movie All About Dad (great Vietnamese American movie, btw!)


    After the showing, the director and the two main leads came out for a quick Q&A session.  Afterward, we got a picture with Chi Pham, the tough dad in the flick.  In real life, he’s a very pleasant fella and I hope to see him in more films in the near future.

    Later that night, Levanna and I got together to go see Snow Patrol (and Plain White Ts) in concert at SDSU!


    Some shots while we were there.  Pictures didn’t come out so well, so instead here’s one of their songs I got on video (Chocolate):


    Ah, busy Sunday!  I first met up with fLiPgUy31O, subaru3169, and Meowmeowkimmaee to shoot the skit that mycontinuity requested for.  Now, since I already have so much I’m posting right now, I’m just going to save that skit for the next time I post.  However, here’s a sneak preview of what to expect:


    Believe me, there’s a story behind this.  Feel free to take a wild guess at what I’m doing here.


    Before the Xanga meet officially started, some of us went back over to the San Diego Asian Film Festival to catch the YouTube Panel featuring many popular YouTube stars such as KevJumba and David Choi.  Props goes to snapeful for asking the final question to them:  “Do any of you guys still use Xanga?”  Nice!  Some interesting answers too.

    David Choi was kind enough to do a live performance of one of his biggest hits:  YouTube (A Love Song).


    When the panel was over, they told us to go upstairs to Yogurt Land to chat with the folks on the panel.  Of course, we had to get a picture with David Choi!  Thanks everchanginglife09 for mentioning the cover video to him once again!  So cool.


    Mr. Angry Asian Man himself, Phil Yu!  Surprisingly, he wasn’t that angry =P


    Wutuwaitn4 representing!  P.S. Best quote from this weekend:

    “Where’s that flaming gay guy that write all those funny posts?” -snapeful, asking me this question just as Wutuwaitn4 comes by



    Ah, back at the lake for the Xanga meet!  As you can see, it was quite the turn out.  No drama at all either!  Just plain old fun.  Strawberries_and_honey did a wonderful job setting this up, so much props to her.

     
    Meowmeowkimmaee and I playing traceball.  At one point, she got the ball stuck in the tree.  I attempted to knock it out by throwing my paddle stick at it.  That, in turn, got stuck in the tree.  Fail.



    The obligatory group shots!  Can you name who’s who?

     
    YES, the Alex Trifecta!!!


    ch0w sure had a fun time monkeying around.


    Remember these shots from my Xangan Picture Collaboration post?  Well, since we were all together now we decided to do something rather nerdy…


    …and reenact those shots!  They’re not exactly the same, but close enough hehehe

    Alright, I’ll end this with two final videos.  The first video is a mixture of a bunch of videos I had shot throughout the weekend, which includes many candid moments:

    The second one is long, but totally worth it.  Yes, a bunch of the people played a round of Chubby Bunny!  After watching this again, I’m glad I decided to film and not participate:

    The winner (or is there really a winner in this game..?):  MyxlDove!

    There you have it.  What a weekend!  Ah, now back to reality in Maryland.

  • Let Me Check My Itinerary

    This will be my last update before I fly over to San Diego this weekend!  I’ll be leaving Friday around noon and will return home early Monday morning.  I will most likely not be able to check Xanga too much during that time as I got quite a loaded weekend ahead of me (although there’s a slight chance for an XTV).  Here’s my tentative itinerary for the weekend so far:

    Friday
    6am-9am:  Opening shift at work
    10:30am-7:30pm:  Spend most of my day at the airport flying from Baltimore to Houston, then Houston to San Diego
    8pm:  Dinner with strawberries_and_honey and snapeful

    Saturday
    2pm-5pm:  Visit the San Diego Asian Film Festival with strawberries_and_honey
    6pm:  Dinner with strawberries_and_honey and Levanna
    7:30pm-???:  Watch a Snow Patrol concert (featuring Plain White Ts) with Levanna

    Sunday
    8am-11am:  Help strawberries_and_honey set up for the SD Xanga meet
    11:30am:  Meet up with wutuwaitn4, snapeful, meowmeowkimmaee, subaru3169, and fLiPgUy31O and head over to the SD Asian Film Festival for the YouTube panel
    12:30pm-2pm:  YouTube Panel, hopefully getting some group pictures taken with KevJumba and David Choi
    2pm-2:30pm:  Get over to the meet
    2:30pm-???:  Have an epic time hanging out with everybody at the Xanga meet
    7pm:  Dinner with whoever’s still around
    8:30pm:  Get dropped off at the airport
    10:30pm:  Fly a red-eye flight out of San Diego on my way back to Maryland

    Monday
    9:20am:  Finally arrive home
    10am-2pm:  SLEEP
    5pm-10pm:  go to my graduate class (probably will be half-dead for this)

    Hopefully I’ll get there safely without getting sick or anything.  I’ll definitely be posting up pictures and videos (including a relationship skit for a children’s class, per request from mycontinuity) sometime soon after I get back and get all settled.

    Alright San Diego, I’m so ready for you =D

  • Some Things I’ve Learned From My Mall-Working Years


    As Robin Sparkles would sing, “Lets go to the mall…today!”

    About 9 years ago, a new mall opened up literally a few minutes away from my house.  Over the following years, I ended up working at four locations in this mall, each completely different jobs from one another.  They were not the best jobs I’ve ever had, but I learned a few things here and there that have proven useful to me.  If you got some time, let me walk you through the four past jobs I’ve worked at in the mall and what I’ve taken away from each experience.

    1st Job:  Dairy Queen/Orange Julius
    Time worked:  Freshman year until sophomore year of high school
    How I came about this job:  My mom knew the managers, so getting hired wasn’t too hard.  My friends and I ended up being one of the first employees at this mall because of this job, so that was kind of cool.
    Overall Job Satisfaction (from 1-10, with 10 being the highest):  7
    Perks:  All the ice cream, hot dogs, and smoothies I wanted!
    Drawbacks:  Smelling like ice cream, hot dogs, and smoothies all day .  Also, I became lactose intolerant shortly after leaving this job.  How ironic right?
    Random skill learned from working here:  I will forever remember how to make soft serve ice cream cones that looks like the picture above.  It’s a fun little trick I bust out occasionally at buffet restaurants.
    Something the typical customer might not know:  If you wait until around the time the place closes, you’ll most likely be able to get some highly discounted smoothies as we couldn’t save ones that we have pre-made.  $1 smoothies as opposed to the typical $3-$4 ones?  Sweet (no pun intended) deal!


    2nd Job:  Random Eucalyptus Oil Stand
    Time worked:  End of sophomore year of high school
    How I came about this job:  Guy that ran it recruited young, naive me from Dairy Queen by promising I could make potentially higher money from them.  Big mistake.
    Overall Job Satisfaction:  2
    Perks:  Some long periods of inactivity, so I was able to study while working.
    Drawbacks:  1st, this was all commission, so there were days I made little to no money.  2nd, I was selling freakin’ ointment oil and had to give out free samples to anyone that wanted it.  By free samples, I mean actually applying this oil stuff on people.  Unfortunately, most people that would volunteer for free samples were elderly folks.  Lets just say rubbing smelly oil on old people all day is not how I ideally wanted to spend my Saturdays.
    Random skill learned from working here:  I sure know the body locations that need the most relief on elderly folks.  Trust me, I had to rub oil on those body parts many (too many) times XP
    Something the typical customer might not know:  Most of the people that worked at these types of stands knew how annoying it is when we tried to convince you to stop and try our products.  We had to do it in order to make some commission, otherwise the day would be a waste for us.  I will never want to work in a place like this again.


    3rd Job:  Movie Theater
    Time worked:  Summer between junior and senior year of high school
    How I came about this job:  Applied with a group of friends.  Funny enough, I was the only one that made it through the screening process (yes, they gave us a personality test.  Random huh?)
    Overall Job Satisfaction:  5
    Perks:  Free movies!  Also, I can watch movies during my shifts by saying I have to go scope out a theater to make sure everything’s alright.  Of course, they didn’t have to know I was checking the same theater over and over again.  hehehehe….
    Drawbacks:  The long, late hours were killer.  Many times I had to work 10 hour shifts ranging from 4pm-2am (damn those late movies urgh!).  Cleaning up sticky, spilled food off the floors of theaters wasn’t so fun either.  Well, I hope that sticky stuff was food
    Random skill learned from working here:  I can guess with about 98% accuracy which movies and times will be crowded or not.  I also know all the fastest ways to get out of theaters.
    Something the typical customer might not know:  In general, most of the workers there don’t care if you bring food in.  We had an unwritten rule that if you were able to sneak pass the workers that take your tickets, we would turn the blind eye on those illegal items.  Besides, most of us felt wrong to force you to buy our overpriced food.


    4th (and last) Job:  American Eagle
    Time worked:  Summer between freshman and sophomore year of college
    How I came about this job:  I never worked at a clothing store, so I applied to the places that were hiring which ended up being Aeropostale and American Eagle.  I got rejected from Aero (those punks!), but American Eagle hired me.
    Overall Job Satisfaction:  7
    Perks:  Big discounts on clothes.  That probably explains why almost all of my wardrobe was AE during most of my college years.  I have since seen a great decline in AE wear as I’ve transitioned to stores like Banana Republic, Esprit and H&M.
    Drawbacks:  Pay was sucky (but then again, most of us were working there for the discounts, not the pay).  The way they do scheduling wasn’t convenient either.  There were weeks I wasn’t on the schedule at all and there were some weeks I was just on call.  Thus, I couldn’t really plan anything for those days until the day before since I could get a call from work at any time. 
    Random skill learned from working here:  I’m now a great person to take shopping with (a wingshopper?), whether I like it or not.  That is, due to my new found knowledge on clothing, style, sizes, etc. I’m actually capable of giving informed opinions as oppose to the past “that’s nice” type of responses.
    Something the typical customer might not know:  We got really annoyed when someone would walk in and out of our store multiple times because it screwed up our conversion rates (for those that aren’t sure what that is, there’s a thing that records everyone that walks in and out of the store and compare it to the sales.  The higher the percentage, the less grief the employees get from the managers). 

    There’s my mall job history!  Hopefully, some of this stuff may prove useful for you.

    P.S.  This entry is now featured over at Dollarish.

  • I can’t believe I’m actually going through with this…

    …but it looks like I will be attending the San Diego Xanga meet up on Sunday, October 18th!

    Now wait, how’s that possible since I’m in Maryland, all the way on the other coast?  Well, I’ve been talking to strawberries_and_honey (the Xangan hosting the event) about this meet up and how I wish I could come since so many of my Xanga friends are going to be there.  After discussing it some more, she offered to pay for half of my flight ticket (!!).  How can I say no to that?

    The only obstacles left were finding people to cover my work shifts that weekend and making sure I can get back to Maryland on time for my Monday night graduate class.  Those issues got settled this morning, so it looks like I’m flying out to San Diego next Friday and getting back home the following Monday morning.

    I’m seriously so excited to finally hang out with a lot of the folks that are going!  I already have some ideas for things to do, such as get a picture together with the other two Alexes (fLiPgUy31O and ch0w) to form the Alex trifecta, perhaps reenact the collaboration pictures I took with Meowmeowkimmaee and snapeful, and play some tennis (or at least paddleball) with subaru3169, among other activities.

    Anybody else have any ideas on what stuff we should do?  I’m bringing my video camcorder, so be creative.  Hmm, just thought up some more ideas…

    San Diego, here I come (for the third time this year)!

    P.S. Click on this link for more information on the meet up.  Do consider stopping by if you’re in the area

  • I Almost Lost Her

    My grandma was the one who introduced her to me before I started my freshman year of college.  I wasn’t so sure I would like her at first.  In the past, I normally preferred more modest types and she seemed a bit too flashy and out there for me.  Still, I didn’t want to disappoint my grandma, so I gave her a chance.

    I took her out with me that day and over time we started to get along pretty well.  She wasn’t as obtrusive as I thought when I first laid eyes on her and she actually stayed covered up for the most part.  Overall, It was her loyalty and consistency that really surprised me.  No matter what was happening, she hung with me through predicaments in which my previous companions may have been tempted to abandon me. 

    Despite those qualities, I think I started taking her for granted after a couple of years together.  In fact, there were times I totally forgot she was there with me.  When others would mention her, I kind of just waved her off and changed the subject.  In a way, I lost my appreciation.

    Perhaps that reason was one of the factors why she decided to finally leave me a short time ago.  I thought I felt her tug my wrist, but I paid no further attention as I carried on my conversation with my friend.  It was only later on that I realized that tug was a sign that she was leaving me.  I went searching for her immediately after I had figured this out, but alas there was no sign of her anywhere.  Resigned to this fate, I tried accepting the lost and attempted to carry on the evening, but it wasn’t working out.  I kept wondering where she was and how I should have been more aware of her in the times past. 

    Seeing how distracted I was, I ended up just calling it a night and went to bed.  I was about to fall asleep when I felt something familiar touching me.  I couldn’t believe it, but there she was laying in my bed!  I was both surprised and cheerful that she had returned to me.  I wasn’t totally sure how she got there, but I was so happy she reappeared in my life.  After losing her for only a moment, I understood just how important and valuable she really was and how careful I will need to be with her in the future.

    Thus, with fears that I may lose her again, I made the decision to not take her out with me anymore.  We had a good run, but I figured it was about time for me to just store her where I’ve stored all my other past companions.  Yup…in my drawer.

    So glad I didn’t end up losing that gold bracelet my grandma gave to me for my college present!  That sure would have been a big loss!

    …Wait, you don’t refer to your bracelets the way I’ve been throughout this whole post?  Oh…um, my bad for any confusion