July 25, 2008

  • I got rejected!

    No, not by a girl, but by the place I absolutely thought I was gonna work for by the end of this summer!

    I was going through the process with them, i.e. them checking my references and me doing a screening a couple of days ago.  There were at least a few positions that they had offered me within the company and I was planning on going in next Tuesday to talk more about one of the position.

    I get a call today from the HR person I’ve been talking with back and forth for the past few months.  She first tell me that they had to cancel the the appointment next Tuesday.  I’m thinking “oh okay, maybe something came up and they have to reschedule.”  The next thing she said completely sucker punched me –

    HR person:  “We are going to have to close your application for all the positions you were applying to.”
    Me:  “…..”

    After my moment of WTF, I asked what was the reason but she said she couldn’t tell me.  I was completely shocked and at first very confused.  What happened?  I’m pretty sure I met all the qualifications, had good references, and passed the intelligence test.  I started thinking about it and the only thing that makes sense was that screening I did a day ago.  However, I’m almost positive i passed it with flying colors.  It took less than 5 minutes, all of which was me saying no to various questions i.e. “have you ever been arrested?”, “have you ever attempted suicide?”, etc.  The only question I didn’t say no to was “Do you ever drink?” which I replied sometimes, but not much because I get red easily and I’m kinda embarrassed by that.  The guy that screened me really gave the impression that I was all good and even started talking about how much I will like the company.

    Well I guess that all means nothing now and I’m back to square one.  I need to keep searching for a job, and maybe even consider going to graduate school if this dumb pattern keeps up.  I know I know, my friend keeps reminding me of that stupid batman line “why do we fall?  So we can get back up!”, but this still totally stings me.  First USTA, now this?  My confidence hasn’t really been at the highest level recently and this just depleted it even more.

    I feel absolutely pathetic right now .  I hope going to VA Beach this weekend will cheer me up, or at the very least distract me from my current situation.  I could really use something to give me a major confidence boost, just anything really good.  I haven’t had a super great thing happen to me in such a long time. Ugh!

    **Insert a lot of frustration sounds here**

Comments (5)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *