Month: February 2007

  • Sectional Tournament this past weekend

    This past weekend our tennis club went to The Tennis Center at CP to play in our sectional tournament with 13 other clubs from VA, DC, and MD.  There was tons of competition and it was fun seeing all the schools playing against one another! 

    We started off to a rough start our first day, losing to Georgetown and William and Mary (whom beat us last year).  The second day was a lot better and we won our match against Old Dominion in our round robin.  We ended up competing in the bronze bracket, which would determine whether we will be placed 9th, 10th, 11th, or 12th. 

    We manage to beat Loyola 24-23 in overall games in the semis.  That was a very close match, but no where near as close as in the bronze finals against George Washington!  Heading into the mix match, our club was down about 7 games.  Tiff and Jeff manage to win mixed 6-1, bring out games total within 2 games of GW’s.  Sectional rules allowed the trailing team to continue into overtime until we can tie our game scores with the leading team, or when the leading team wins just 1 game.  Again, Tiff and Jeff manage to win the next two games… which THEN took us into a supertiebreaker (yea, crazy rules huh?), where the first to 7 points win the whole match.  and guess what…we did just that!  I was literally having a heart attack on the sidelines watching this because it was sooooo crazy close.  

    So overall we placed 9th out of 14 schools, which is actually not too bad seeing as our goal was really not to be embarassed due to our lack of practice and Tiff’s injury.  Because of our, cough, not so pleasing record during the fall season our seeding was 13, so we manage to beat 3 schools that were seeded 6, 8 and 9 I believe…so not too shabby .  I have high hopes for our club for this upcoming semester.


    Aren’t we such a mix group of tennis lovers?

    I’m feeling rather fatigued now.  I really wish my shin splints would go away because they are irking me like crazy!   

    Pshhh…..my birthday is this Thursday .  Can’t wait to celebrate this Friday!

  • I like this week’s angryasianman.com comic.  Year of the Pig baby


    He’s gonna be going to CP this Saturday; hopefully someone can catch that and tell me how it is!

    This weekend I will be playing in the tennis sectional tournament being held at The Tennis Center in College Park.  Feel free to come by and support us if you like!  Wish us luck; we’re gonna need it haha.

    It’s amazing how one thing (or person) can make you spiral down and down…

  • Hurray hurray for no school,
    Hurray hurray for no school,
    Hurray hurray for noooo schoool!!!
    I’m glad we don’t have school, hey!
  • *double take* Uhhh is it just me or does the two on the left looks like…

     
    from secretasianman.com:

    This strip is for all the
    interracial couples
    out there. You know you do it too. You see them from across the street.
    They are your dopplegangers, your evil twins. You are to them what they
    are to you. They have the same conversation afterwards as you do:



    “Did you see them?”



    “Yeah, I saw them.”



    “Do you think we look like that?”



    “Hell, no.
    We’re much better looking.”

    Haha.. oh Mr. Secret Asian Man, were you pokin’ fun at me?  Thought that was interesting…

    This week has been going much faster for me than last week, despite
    some bad patches I’m going through.  I’m hoping that things will
    turn out good for me in the end, but really…I have no control in
    whether that will actually happen.  It’s kinda sucks for me
    because I’m someone who likes to have some control over things that
    affect me, so when I don’t I feel really powerless.  Doesn’t help
    that I feel disconnected from my close people in general.  You
    know that feeling where you have so much to give, but no one to give it
    to?  Very
    frustrating to say the least. 
    All I can do right now is try to
    stay busy and distract myself from my problems.  and sing my diddy
    (sung like “Skip to the Loo”):

    I hate life ’cause life hates me

    I hate life and that’s times three
    I hate life ’cause life hates me
    Aiya, Aiya, Aiya!

    (yea, I know the above doesn’t make much sense grammatically, but those that know me should be use to that by now )

    *Update*

    Yes, I finally did my resume!!!  Thanks a lot Niez .  I’m sure learning a lot of new things this week.

  •  If the guy from My Sassy Girl can do it, I’m sure I can

    Yes…


    I need more good times like this happening this semester

    Gotta keep busy, gotta keep busy…

  • I’m feeling so blue right now