Month: June 2013

  • The Xanga Team’s John Coming Soon to My Radio Show!

    Save the Date!  This Sunday, June 30th, at 7pm EST I will finally get a chance to interview @John from @TheXangaTeam, the CEO of Xanga, on my online radio show

    The direct link to the show is http://www.blogtalkradio.com/roadlesstaken/2013/06/30/on-the-road-less-taken–john-from-the-xanga-team.  You can click on that link to tune in live or use that link after the show is over to listen to the recorded broadcast on demand.  You also have the option of downloading the show onto iTunes. 

    For convenience, below is the embedded player for my show to listen to any past episodes:

    Listen to internet radio with Roadlesstaken on BlogTalkRadio

    Do you have any suggestions for questions or topics we should discuss?  If so, you are welcome to submit them in the comment section below.  I can also take suggestions during the show in our live chatroom, located at http://roadlesstakenradio.chatango.com.

    FYI, here are some of the main topics I already have in mind for the show:

    • The Xanga Team background information
    • Fundraiser
    • Xanga 2.0
    • Feedback on the community’s reactions
    • Marketing strategies
    • General Xanga-related questions
    • Feedback on member’s ideas and suggestions

    For more information about my radio show (including which future guests are coming up) please click here.  Hope you all can tune in and can spread the word!  I expect our discussion to be very informative and interesting.

    P.S. Thanks to everyone who has participated and tuned in to any of my past episodes!  It has been fun and I am enjoying my time hosting this series.

  • Information on My Xanga Online Talk Radio Show

    Shortly after my last post, I received bad news that Xanga may shut down come July 15th (now July 31st) unless $60,000 is raised.  Even if the money is raised, the site, as we know it, will change drastically into a pay version.  Of course, this sudden news affected all Xangans and there is no shortage of opinions everywhere.

    I decided that I am going to try something out, while there’s time.  Not sure if many of you know, but I am a host of an online talk radio show where I interview and discuss tennis topics with guests.  It is a lot of fun, so I figure why not do something similar for Xanga?

    Allow me to debut my new show:  On the Road Less Taken (www.blogtalkradio.com/roadlesstaken)

    What is the show about?  Fellow Xangans will be featured, where we will talk about their experiences and opinions on Xanga and current state of affairs.

    Where can I listen to the show?  You can go to www.blogtalkradio.com/roadlesstaken for a listing of upcoming episodes and times.  Direct links to episodes will be provided below.

    When are the showtimes?  Episodes will typically be on during the weekday evenings (EST), about 4 times a week, and for 30-60 minutes.  Depending on demand, I may expand to do some shows on the weekends.

    Is there a chat room available to live chat?  Yes, the official chatroom is located at  roadlesstakenradio.chatango.com .  I will monitor the chatroom during the show in case anyone have suggestions for topics to talk about with my guests live.

    Will you take live listener calls?  Yes, this is an option.  However, to keep the flow of the show going I would prefer questions to go in the chatroom.

    What if I am not available to listen to the show during the live broadcast?  No problem!  After the live show is over, it will be available on demand by clicking on that same episode link.  It will also be available via iTunes (link at the episode’s page).

    How can I be a featured guest?  Comment in this post or private message me on Xanga with your request and why you want to be a guest.  I will try my best to fit people in the schedule, but space will be limited.  I am looking for a mixture of guests, not just the most well known folks.

    How can I suggest topics or questions to ask on the show?  Comment in this post or private message me on Xanga and I will try my best to include your suggestion into the live broadcast.

    Is @TheXangaTeam involve with the show?  Not officially.  However, I will be requesting for some of the team members to be featured guests in the near future.

    I don’t know your guest(s)! Why should I tune in?  Well, in a way didn’t we all start off as strangers on this site before we started finding one another?  This may be a way to see what other Xangans are all about.  You may end up finding you all have more similarities than you think.

    How long will you continue this show?  As of right now, I am planning to go until July 15th.  Depending on what happens in the near future, I may continue the show or end it if Xanga ends.

    Upcoming Episodes (Last Updated July 18th 10pm):


    Note: Schedule, guests, and times subject to change

    You can also catch the episodes in the embedded player below:

    Listen to internet radio with Roadlesstaken on BlogTalkRadio

    I hope people enjoy listening to the upcoming shows and getting to know the featured guests!  Should be a lot of fun and I am very excited to test this out with you all.